Here goes nothing…

vlog-8-2

Okay. Here we go. Nothing to lose. Right?

I am, in fact, finding this whole thing pretty terrifying and secretly empowering. I guess thats how most people feel starting a blog like this.

So why am I starting a blog? To be honest I’m not totally sure, I already have a full time job and I’m also trying to start up an Etsy shop, so the last thing I need to do is take up something else in my *spare* time. But something is telling me I have to do this, something is telling me I need it and its going to help, in some way, with something, but I’m not completely sure what that is.

I would, in no way, consider myself a writer. I am not remotely unqualified, but I love the idea of writing, it feels cathartic. I love reading but don’t seem to have read as much as I would like by this age, I would not consider myself ‘well read’ who does? I hated English Language at school, picking apart a piece of text and analysing the words seemed to kill the magic for me. My adolescent self didn’t care about the formation of words and how cleverly they could be used, I just liked how reading made me feel and how much it made me think.

This attitude, is not however, consistent. I love to know how other things work and how they’re made. I am a trained seamstress and dress maker and I worked in theatre and television for years, I love the ‘behind the scenes’ scene. I wonder why I hate that so much in writing? Maybe its because I just don’t care to understand. I’d rather be romantically ignorant.

Anyway, because of this lack of enthusiasm for language I skipped studying it at a further level and let other people do that. My mum is a writer but has a completely different view to me, she loves to understand how words work and why we use them the way we do. She loves to edit and proof things and would die inside if she knew I was publishing something online without it first being passed under her critical and painfully accurate eye, but I am, gramatical errors and all.

No one who knows me knows I am doing this and I think I’d like to keep it that way. I have been told, on more than one occasion, that I cannot write but I don’t care. I like the therapeutic quality it holds for me, I like how empowered it makes me feel and I can only hope that it does improve my writing. I’m not sure what my goals and aspirations are for this blog yet, I think I’ll follow where it takes me.

Here goes nothing…

<a href=”https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18488201/?claim=g74p9y6uth6″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

